October 19, 1984 - Atlantic Records
October 15, 1984 - Charisma Records

ValotteValotte was Julian's debut album produced by Phil Ramone (Billy Joel).

The majority of the songs came from demos written by Julian Lennon, Justin Clayton and Carlton Morales during a 3 month stay at the remote Manor de Valotte, a French chateau near Nevers during the fall of 1983.

Valotte was certified  Gold by the RIAA on January 9, 1985 and then Platinum by the RIAA on March 13th, 1985. Julian also received a Grammy nomination for Best New Artist for his work on the album at the 28th Annual Grammy Awards.

The first US single, Valotte, made it's debut on the Billboard Top 40 on November 10th, 1984. It stayed in the top 40 for 12 weeks and spent a month in the top ten peaking at #9. The second single, Too Late For Goodbyes,  was the album's second top ten hit on the national Adult Contemporary charts and stayed there for five weeks with two weeks as number 1!


Valotte* O.K. For You**   On The Phone Space Well I Don't Know
Too Late For Goodbyes Lonely Say You're Wrong Jesse+ Let Me Be

Purchase Valotte

The album was recorded from February - August 1984 at several studios in America including: Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, Muscle Shoals, Alabama; Bear Tracks Recording Studio, Suffern, New York; A & R Recording Studios, New York City; Clinton Recording Studios, New York City; and The Hit Factory, New York City. Along with long-time mate Justin Clayton, Julian was joined by a group of top-ranked supporting players for the recordings. Incidentally, the album was finished and mixed at The Hit Factory by Bradshaw Leigh on the same console used by John Lennon to record "Double Fantasy"... Recording was coordinated by Joseph D'Ambrosio... the album was Engineered by Bradshaw Leigh & Pete Greene.


Julian Lennon: Lead vocals, bass guitar, keyboards, Simmons drums & percussion
Guitars: Justin Clayton & Carlton Morales
Keyboards: Barry Beckett, David Lebolt & Peter Wood
Drums: Roger Hawkins & Steve Holly
Bass Guitars: David Hood, Marcus Miller & Carmine Rojas
Percussion: Ralph MacDonald & Steve Holly
Background Vocals: Rory Dodd, Eric Troyer & Julian Lennon
Trumpets: Jon Faddis & Joe Shepley
Saxophones: Michael Brecker, George Young, Lawrence Feldman & Ron Cuber

Cameo Appearances:

Michael Brecker: Saxophone solo on Lonely
Jean "Toots" Thielemans: Harmonica on Too Late For Goodbyes
Martin Briley: Guitar on Too Late For Goodbyes
Dennis Herring: Guitar on Jesse

The cover photo was taken by David Michael Kennedy
Sleeve Design by Bob Defrin & Julian Lennon